Aged Care Course

Aged Care Course

Aged Care Course Certificate 3 in Individual Support

Skills Training College (RTO#45654 | CRICOS #03884A) offers the nationally recognised and accredited Aged Care Course:

The CHC33015 Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing) is Australia’s latest Cert III Aged Care course. It is designed for those who are seeking work in aged care facilities or organisations that provide care and services to seniors.

STC’s aged care course will give you the core skills in aged care that you need to widen your job options. For instance, with this nationally accredited qualification, you can apply for jobs in a range of aged care facilities. As well as increasing your job readiness, you will gain a range of skills you need to provide care services for the elderly.

Additionally, you will learn how to empower older people, support their wellbeing, and provide personal individual support and care for your clients.

Why Choose the aged care course Certificate III in Individual Support?

This Cert III in individual support that specialises in aged care is the most current and up-to-date entry-level aged care training course. Certificate III in individual support is nationally recognised. Being an individual support qualification that specialises in ageing is ideal for anyone seeking jobs in the aged care sectors, such as:

  • Residential Support Worker
  • Aged Care Worker
  • Nursing Assistant
  • Connecting Care Worker
  • Health Services Assistant
  • Home Care Assistant Personal Care
  • Assistant Healthcare Worker

Because of Australia’s ageing population, all of these roles are likely to be in high demand in the future, so the course prepares you for work in an area where finding jobs should not be a problem.

What do you have to do to gain Certificate III in individual support?

There are two versions of Certificate III in individual support. The one offered by Skills Training College is specifically for the aged care sector, but the core units can also be used if you wish to qualify in the disability sector. The structure of the course is 7 core units and 6 elective units. The main element of the course is a work placement of 120 hours in an aged care facility. The 7 core units are as follows:

  • CHCCOM005 Communicate and work in health or community services
  • HLTWHS002 Follow safe work practices for direct client care
  • CHCCS015 Provide individualised support
  • HLTAAP001 Recognise healthy body systems
  • CHCCCS023 Support independence and wellbeing
  • CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically
  • CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people

What will you learn in CHC33015 Certificate III in Individual Support?

The course will teach you how to provide support both in the home and community care. You will gain knowledge about the health needs of elderly people and how to be an effective support worker. Here are just some of the things you will learn:

  • About supporting the healthy functioning of the human body
  • Infection prevention and control
  • About empowering older people
  • How to provide individual support
  • About supporting and communicating with a client with dementia
  • The legal and ethical requirements of working with older people

What is the difference between Cert 3 and Cert 4 aged care courses?

The cert 3 in aged care, which is formally known as Certificate III in Individual Support, is the standard qualification that you need to work in an aged care facility. It’s usually the first qualification for a job in a retirement care home or a nursing home. Although both cert 3 and cert 4 training courses are entry-level qualifications, it depends on what role you want to pursue and the tasks that suit you when it comes to deciding which to choose.

The Certificate III in Individual Support course is more suitable if you:

  • Have no or very little experience in the aged care industry
  • Prefer to gain experience and see if the job is the right fit
  • Want a less expensive and shorter course

The Certificate IV in Ageing Support course may be better if you:

  • Are planning to apply for Team Leader roles in aged care
  • Want more advanced skills
  • Have an interest in managing teams
  • Want to do more specialised tasks in Aged Care and Home & Community Care

Once you have gained a cert 3 and secured employment in the industry and find it suits you, you can consider upgrading your qualifications to cert 4. Cert 4 is a longer course – there are 15 core units and 3 elective units to do, whereas cert 3 requires 7 core units and 6 electives. That’s 18 units versus 13.

What are the Certificate III in Individual Support fees?

The STC offers Certificate III in individual support for only $895.

Please see Fees and Refunds Policy for more information.

You may be eligible for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) if you have evidence supporting any prior relevant education and work experience. This can reduce your study load and make the course shorter. If you think you may be eligible for RPL, please speak with us for further details before enrolling.